Excellence in Health and Physical Education Awards

Congratulations to our 2023 award recipients! We encourage you to consider nominating a colleague for 2024 - applications to open Term 3, 2024.

ACHPER SA, with the support of Credit Union SA, are pleased to provide 2 Excellence in Health and Physical Education Teaching Awards:

  • Norma Jenner Memorial Award – Primary School HPE Excellence teacher
  • Howard Mutton Memorial Award – Secondary School HPE Excellence teacher


These awards recognise two outstanding educators and ACHPER Life Members who helped shape the formation and growth of ACHPER SA. Howard Mutton championed the cause of increasing participation for more than 30 years. Howard was a member of ACHPER from its formation and was passionate about the social value of involvement in sport and believed there was a place and level of participation for anyone who wanted to have a go. Norma Jenner was an ACHPER member from the early 70’s and was always an enthusiastic and professional activist for the cause of physical education in Schools, with a specific passion to and for dance and movement for people of all ages. 


These awards recognise and reward South Australian teachers who:

  • model outstanding pedagogical practices,
  • build the capacity of their colleagues as HPE professionals 
  • develop healthy and physically active learners.


Teachers from Government, Catholic and Independent sectors are encouraged to apply.



2023 nominations have closed and the winners were announced on Friday, 10th November 2023.

2023 Application Form (PDF)

2023 Application Form (Word Doc)



The ACHPER SA judging committee will decide on the winners and finalists in each category via a majority vote. Decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into.


Announcement of Winners and Runners-up

All shortlisted teachers will be invited to attend the ACHPER SA Physical Education Week Dinner at a reduced rate where the winners and runners up will be announced.


Previous Award Winners

2023 Amber Heaft  Erin McIntee
2022 Toby Priest Carlee Mitchell 
Kas Pillay Shane Hill
2020 Nick Skewes  Sam Kondraciuk
Nick Warren Jess Morrish
2018 Travis Henderson Brad Snell
Scott Hughes Katie Liebelt
2016 Kylie Newbold Kain Noack


Testimonial from 2016 Excellence in HPE award winner, Kylie Newbold

"Winning the ACHPER Excellence in HPE Award was such an honour, the recognition from colleagues was most humbling and it meant a great deal to me. Being awarded this at the Physical Education Week dinner in front of 'like' people was special and a lovely way to be recognised for putting in just that little bit extra to make a difference to the kids we work with. Receiving money as part of this award went towards future training and development opportunities within ACHPER. This was greatly appreciated and it allowed me to attend many conferences and workshops for free. These conferences are key to what we do and how we can grow as a learner and PE educator. I was also acknowledged as a winner of the award at conferences throughout the year which made me feel quite special. I encourage your Principals, leadership, colleagues and peers to consider nominating an outstanding HPE educator. It will put a spring in their step, it will show that you value all that they contribute and it recognises their efforts as a learner and someone who is continually striving to a high standard. Your nomination will mean a lot."

Congratulations to the 2023 Excellence in HPE Winners: Amber Heaft (Primary) & Erin McIntee (Secondary)


2022 Winners - Toby Priest & Carlee Mitchell


2021 Winners - Kas Pillay and Shane Hill

2020 Winners - Nick Skewes & Sam Kondraciuk

2019 Winners - Nick Warren & Jess Morrish